Dublin….

I’ve been traveling backwards and forwards to Dublin quite a bit over the last few years – Ireland is a curious mix of the old and the new. Fantastic for new companies with good support from the government, but a lot of history and definitely quirky, from the Guiness Tower, the Spike of O’Connell Street and the little alleyways that seem full of bars. It was my first visit in a while and definitely my first trip since being diagnosed with Coeliacs disease. I needn’t have worried – the hotel I stayed in (The O’Callaghan Davepnort, http://www.davenporthotel.ie/) was more than aware and very happy to cook Gluten Free variants (as far as possible) for the vast majority of the meals on their menu.

I was there a couple of days and managed to get out and about on the second night – although it was raining heavily(their IS a REASON its called the Emerald Isle). Anyway, I managed to snap a few pics – I hope you enjoy… If you have a long weekend to spare,  I would definitely recommend spending the time in Dublin.

Where else but Dublin would you find a bridge designed like a Harp?

Where else but Dublin would you find a bridge designed like a Harp?

 

Their is an interesting blend of old and new.. here’s a tall ship (available for weddings!) moored up on the Liffe just upstream from the Dublin Convention Centre

The Old and the New - the Convention Centre is in the background.

The Old and the New – the Convention Centre is in the background.

 

Loved this pre-school nursery – who wouldnt want to attend if the inside is as much fun as the outside?

St Mary's Pre-School, City Quay

St Mary’s Pre-School, City Quay

 

No visit to dublin would be complete with out an outing to Temple Bar – here’s a view down Fleet Street into the Bar. Always busy, always something to see lots of bars (but no Beer/Lager/Guiness for me – I’ll just have to make do with Irish Whiskey!).

Looking down Fleet Street to Temple Bar.

Looking down Fleet Street to Temple Bar.

 

My short stay over, I was back to Dublin Airport to fly back to London – as I flew Aer Lingus I got to use the ‘newish’ Terminal 2 – nice view below as we took off headed back to London…

View from Above - Terminal 2 in the middle...

View from Above – Terminal 2 in the middle…

 

Saw some very interesting weather on the way over – this was just south of Birmingham (having built-in GPS is useful.. even in a plane!)..

Very dramatic cl;oudscape.. I would not have wanted to be underneath that...!

Very dramatic cloudscape.. I would not have wanted to be underneath that…!

 

Nearly home.. as we turned into the setting sun, I managed a somewhat misty view of the O2 Arena and London Docklands…

O2 Arena/London Docklands...

O2 Arena/London Docklands…

 

Always nice to get home… thanks for reading…

4 thoughts on “Dublin….

  1. Great photos! The sky view of London from Dome to sun set especially. Loved it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

