So – a Gluten-Free Update – Over the hills and far away…

Its been a busy couple of weeks. I made my first overseas trip since being diagnosed. It was a 2 day training course in Nice in the South of France (oh that I had time to make this post more attractive by adding some pictures), but it was a business trip – a short, very intensive long 2 day session – still at least the weather was ok(for that read it wasnt raining!).

Before I went I notified the course organisers of my dietary needs, who duly advised the restaurant where we were due to have a course dinner on the Wednesday evening. Sorted? Well not quite. Unfortunately, the company canteen where we had the course didnt get the message. Luckily I managed to suss out what I thought would be ok the first day(and seemed to get away with it).

The meal out was actually enjoyable – although Gluten Free seemed to mean Vegetarian but it was ok. The following morning Breakfast was a cup of coffee (the pastries looked delicious.. but non!). Lunch was something salady.. pastries were much in evidence in the breaks which really just served to underline my ‘specialness’ lol.

We then had a 4 hour wait at the airport where again I struggled to find something I could eat(typical abundance of Gluten FULL offerings and poor schoolboy french conspired to keep me hungry. By the time I got home I was ravenous.. Although… it DID give me the excuse (like I need one) to eat a lot over the weekend.

Now to those of you who are Coeliacs veterans, none of this is new. It was an experience for me and one in which several lessons were learnt, most important of which (to me) is to make sure I take something snacky to help assuage the pangs of hunger.

Oh.. did I mention I am going to Kefalonia for 2 weeks for my summer holidays… ? Cant wait!

Thanks for reading and persevering to the bitter end.

6 thoughts on “So – a Gluten-Free Update – Over the hills and far away…

  1. Oh poor you, all those pastries, and not able to eat them 😦 Mind you, Kefalonia sounds great, I love the Greek islands
    Jane x

    Like

  2. Oh poor you, all those pastries, and not able to eat them 😦 Mind you, Kefalonia sounds great, I love the Greek islands
    Jane x

    Like

  3. Oh poor you, all those pastries, and not able to eat them 😦 Mind you, Kefalonia sounds great, I love the Greek islands
    Jane x

    Like

Leave a Reply

