Whats in a number?

Well, today I hit another of those annual milestones called a birthday. I’m going to set a bit of a puzzle and leave it to the discerning reader to identify just HOW old I am(much as I’d love it, not 18 or 21). I will give some clues..

  • A London Bus Route – Walthamstow -. East Ham
  • A Type of Steam locomotive
  • A company which offersΒ  eco-friendly wildlife watching, sightseeing, and diving boat trips from Banff Harbour;

So I am feeling in a pensive mood.. not too long til the next BIG one.. retirement looms on the horizon (perhaps forced with the way things are going in the UK) and its getting to the point where in any meeting in the office I am one of the ‘senior’ attendees (OLD.. yes I get it lol). There’s been lots of changes over my life thus far. I remember the advent of FM radio, first black and white then colour TV. The almost complete demise of the vinyl LP(happily making a comeback in certaIn quarters, the swtich to tape cassettes, CD’s, DVD’s and now Blu-Ray. The explosion in the internet of things – everything connected to the Internet(on which I remember using the Netscape browser in 1994 – I still have a 4 character yahoo mail address which I have had for 20 years – blimey). Global warming, the millenium bug (lots of money made out of that one!), Commodore Pets, Sinclair ZX81, BBC Micro.. the list goes on. Enough looking back..

I wonder what the next several years will bring. You know you are in trouble when their is a report of an internet connected fridge being used to send SPAM mail! 3DTV (not much use to me only having one good eye!), Wearable tech, Cognitive computing, Smart Cars, Smarter Cities – lots of hype around the explosion in data, but lots of scary stats backed up by facts on the amount of data being generated (and analysed) by all sorts of companies to target YOU for marketing(I sometimes think John Connor had the right idea – off the grid). For sure the world of my children will be as strange to me as my stories of ‘the old days’ are to them. I think I am firmly of the PC generation.. my children are definitely smartphone generation….. I wonder what the next generation will be?

Told you I was pensive. If you got this far I applaud you reading my ramblings.. Normal service will be resumed later this week lol.

8 thoughts on “Whats in a number?

  1. Enjoyed the rambling πŸ™‚ Happy birthday Tony! Was there ever not an Internet???
    Jane x

    Like

Leave a Reply

