So – the Journey continues

Image

Well, here I am, 3 weeks into my journey to Nirvana (well ok.. Gluten Free!). Apologies for the somewhat tenuous link to the car, but lets face it.. it looks like a fun car to drive! Anyway, I digress…

I’ve seen a Dietitian, who told me a couple of things that I didnt know and must confess I wouldn’t have even thought of. I need to check any medicine I buy or is prescribed for me, as it’s possible some do contain Gluten. I also didnt know that tea/coffee inhibits the bodies ability to ingest Iron – much better to drink orange juice. I also learnt that I need to keep my Calcium intake up(apparently a lot of the Gluten free foods are fortified with additional calcium) to avoid brittle bones.

I am today venturing out to eat for the first time.I decided I would do some prep ahead of my visit to my local steak-house chain restaraunt (who shall remain nameless). I dropped a note to them to see if they indicate which of their menu options are Gluten Free (I’m going to use GF from now on). Apparently (according to their customer service) they couldnt possibly put all the allergen information onto their menus(so I guess 3% of the UK population isnt significant enough?). Anyway, they DID send me a breakdown by menu option of the nutritional and allergen content of their selections.

This made me understand why they are loathe to put information about the GF status of their dishes. Pretty much everything (with a few exceptions) either contains Gluten or is produced in factories where cross-contamination cannot be ruled out. i did manage to find a small number of things I can have, but i need to be very explicit about what I order. Oh and they dont have a GF menu.. I have suggested they may want to think about it?  I’ll let you know how I get on. Thanks for reading… sorry this turned into a bit of a rant…

2 thoughts on “So – the Journey continues

  1. Rant away! You have a legitimate concern to look out for yourself and your health. My little niece is in a similar position, and my sister spends a lot of energy looking out for her. Thanks for visiting my blog today, good luck in your journey.

    Like

    • Thanks for your comment Tina – Love your songs… I’ll be updating the Coeliacs story from time to time :). I hope your niece/sister are coping well. It can be a struggle as Gluten gets into almost everything (and I have slipped a few times)… but I am getting there. Have a great weekend.

      Like

Leave a Reply

