Who’d a thunk it?

 

Interesting Perspective

Underneath the Humber Bridge

 

The Deep (Aquarium) at the mouth of the River Hull

The Deep (Aquarium) at the mouth of the River Hull

Who’d a thunk it?

Well well well. My home town will be the 2017 UK City of Culture. What a fantastic privilege – I am sure the competition was tough. I’ve always felt Kingston Upon Hull (to give it its FORMAL name) was much maligned. Geographically its always been a bit isolated, on the north bank of the River Humber, in the East Riding of Yorkshire(No NOT Humberside as some Central Government types tried to impose several years ago). Hull (or ‘Ull to us locals) has done a lot to pull it up by its bootstraps since we lost the fishing fleet to pastures new – when I was in my junior school more than 50% of the kids in my class had fathers who regularly risked life and limb fishing in the waters around the UK and the North Sea (remember the Cod wars? Iceland V Britain?)…

The Humber Bridge is very impressive(from where I grew up, I watched the construction) – but to me has always been of dubious benefit. The motorway network in the area is such that to me it doesnt actually seem to save anything unless you want to travel from the North Bank to the SouthBank. Ahhh well. I’m sure it made sense at the time.

I confess I haven’t been back in a few years, but I really hope the City Of Culture award helps to make the rest of the UK aware of the positive aspects of Hull and the East Riding – its not all Ilkley Moor, flatcaps and mushy peas!

Leave a Reply

